People

⇑ Top Joan Alexander
Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Boulder, CO
alexand@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 204
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Sciences. Atmospheric dynamics, waves, convection, global circulation modeling, mesoscale modeling, satellite, aircraft, balloon-borne observations, and middle atmosphere studies

⇑ Top Ed Andreas
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
eandreas@nwra.com
603-448-3555
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Boundary-layer meteorology: In particular, air-sea interaction in high winds and the effects of spray; air-sea-ice interaction; scintillation and electro-optical propagation in the atmospheric surface layer; fundamental turbulence issues such as Monin-Obukhov similarity theory, time series analysis, and measurement physics; technical writing.

⇑ Top Mark Baldwin
Affiliate Scientist, Director
mark@nwra.com
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Sciences. The Arctic Oscillation, stratosphere-troposphere coupling, and propagation of planetary-scale waves in the troposphere and stratosphere.

⇑ Top Debbi Bardsley
Manager of Human Resources - SPHR - Redmond, WA
debbi@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 213

⇑ Top Graham Barnes
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
graham@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 234
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Space Physics. Magnetohydrodynamics, numerical modeling of space plasmas.

⇑ Top Marie Barrington
Accounts Receivable - Redmond, WA
marie@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 218

⇑ Top John Begenisich
Technical Manager, Seattle - Redmond, WA
john@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 318

Research interests: Systems administration and software engineering

⇑ Top Dave Berliner
Affiliate Scientist - Redmond, WA
daveb@nwra.com

⇑ Top Janet Biggs
Operations Manager - Boulder, CO
janet@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 247

⇑ Top Aaron Birch
Affiliate Scientist
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Solar physics, local helioseismology, solar interior.

⇑ Top Douglas Braun
Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Boulder, CO
dbraun@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 226
Personal website

Research interests: Space Physics - solar and astrophysics. Local helioseismology, solar interior.

⇑ Top Assets Greg Bullock
Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
greg@nwra.com
(831) 582-4907
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Alexandra Cherkassky
Senior Accountant - Redmond, WA
alexandra@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 217

⇑ Top Ashley Crouch
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
ash@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 240

⇑ Top Eric Danioux
Affiliate Scientist
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Inertia-gravity waves. Geophysical turbulence. Interaction between balanced and unbalanced motions. Mixed layer dynamics.

⇑ Top Donald Delisi
Founder, Chairman of the Board, Executive Vice President, Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
don@nwra.com

Research interests: Acquisition, analysis, and interpretation of laboratory and field measurements of vortex evolution, internal waves, and turbulent flows; comparisons of field data with laboratory measurements and numerical simulations; experimental fluid mechanics; analysis and interpretation of atmospheric and oceanic flows.

⇑ Top Bergen Delisi
Data Aid - Redmond, WA
bergen@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055

⇑ Top Tim Dunkerton
Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Redmond, WA
tim@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 326
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Sciences Dynamic meteorology, atmospheric general circulation.

⇑ Top Phil Dunkerton
Lab Assistant/Data Aide - Redmond, WA
pdunkerton@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 317

⇑ Top Jeffrey Early
Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
jearly@nwra.com
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Mesoscale and large scale physical oceanography; the application of symmetry methods to geophysical fluid dynamics

⇑ Top Wayne Evans
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
wayne@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Remote sensing of atmospheric gases and radiation from satellites. Radiative forcing of climate by greenhouse gases, cirrus clouds and relative humidity, detection of new airglow emissions, absorption of solar NIR by precipitating clouds.

⇑ Top Diane Fatland
Contracts Administrator - Redmond, WA
diane@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 214

⇑ Top Jonathan Fentzke
Affiliate Scientist
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Research focus on Mesosphere and Lower Thermosphere (MLT) studies including modeling, simulation, and data fusion using Incoherent Scatter Radar (ISR) and Lidar. Interests include collisional plasma processes in the E-Region of the Ionosphere as well as meteoric smoke measurements and their relation to the Micrometeoric Input Function (MIF).

⇑ Top Talida Fodorean
Senior Accountant - Redmond, WA
talida@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 340

⇑ Top John (Juan) Fontenla
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
jfontenla@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 227
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Andrew Frahm
Proposal Administrator - Boulder, CO
frahm@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 200

⇑ Top Edward Fremouw
Founder, Emeritus
Personal website

Research interests: Near-Earth Space Science: ionospheric physics (satellite experiments & radiowave tomographic imaging) and radio propagation (scintillation observations & modeling).

⇑ Top Sergey Fridman
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
sergey@nwra.com
(831) 582-4902
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Electromagnetic propagation in randomly structured ionization; Robust methods for solution of inverse problems and ill-posed problems; Ionospheric modeling for Over-the-Horizon radar coordinate registration; VHF/UHF ionospheric propagation and scintillations; Advanced signal processing for radar.

⇑ Top Peter Furey
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
furey@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 230
Personal website
⇑ Top Assets Andrew Geiss
Graduate Student - Redmond, WA
andrew@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055

⇑ Top Lisa Goshorn-Sandlin
Administrative Assistant - Contracting - Redmond, WA
lisa@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 331

⇑ Top Alice Gregory
Manager of Corporate Matters - Redmond, WA
alice@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 312

⇑ Top Alison Grimsdell
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
grimsdell@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 211
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Heidi Guerrero
Accounts Payable Specialist - Redmond, WA
heidi@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 333

⇑ Top Mark Hausman
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
markhausman@nwra.com
(831) 582-4903
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Research focus is on computer programs that model complex physical systems, specifically simulations and studies of ionospheric and space physics, and their effects on radar and communications systems. Fields of expertise include data translation (e.g., raw radar data from ROTHR and BMEWS) and data visualization.

⇑ Top Laura Holt
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
laura@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 239
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Assets Brenda Javornik
Support Engineer - Boulder, CO
brendaj@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 210
Curriculum vitae | Personal website
⇑ Top ChuanLi Jiang
Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
chuanli@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 308

⇑ Top Ji-Eun Kim
Graduate Student - Boulder, CO
(303) 415-9701 x 242

⇑ Top Dennis Knepp
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
dennis.knepp@nwra.com
(831) 582-4906
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Assets Shawn Kraut
Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
shawn@nwra.com
831-655-4261
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Assets Eric Kunze
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
kunze@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055

Research interests: Understanding and parameterizing the effects of smallscale ocean processes on large scales, including the impacts of internal waves, turbulence, fronts, double diffusion and stratified turbulence.

⇑ Top David Lai
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
dlai@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 313
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Ocean and Earth Sciences, Fundamental Fluid Mechanics. Turbulence, vortices, remote sensing.

⇑ Top Assets Zachary Lawrence
Student Intern - Redmond, WA

⇑ Top KD Leka
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
leka@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 219
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Space Physics. Solar physics, solar magnetic fields, sunspots and solar active regions, solar flares, polarimetry and instrumentation.

⇑ Top Pascale Lelong
Senior Research Scientist, Director - Redmond, WA
pascale@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 336
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Ocean and Earth Sciences. Geophysical fluid dynamics; perturbation and asymptotic methods; numerical modeling.

⇑ Top Gad Levy
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
gad@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 324
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Atmospheric Sciences, Ocean and Earth Sciences

⇑ Top Beate Liepert
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
liepert@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 306
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Climate variability from inter-annual to centennial time scales, water and energy cycle in a changing climate. Global dimming and brightening and its implications for climate including the water and carbon cycles. In-situ measurements of air pollution and radiative properties in urban and suburban environments on board hot-air balloons.

⇑ Top Jonathan Lilly
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
lilly@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 328
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Oceanic vortex structures, deep convection, time / frequency analysis methods, wave-wave interactions, and satellite oceanography.

⇑ Top Charles Lindsey
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
lindsey@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 238
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Fiona Lo
Support Scientist - Redmond, WA
fiona@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 315
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Thomas Lund
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
lund@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 209
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Larry Mahrt
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
mahrt@nwra.com
(541) 754-7501
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Boundary layers and turbulence, evapotranspiration, air-sea interaction, bouyancy-driven slope flows, micrometeorology.

⇑ Top Gloria Manney
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
manney@nwra.com
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Philip Mote
Affiliate Scientist
pmote@coas.oregonstate.edu
(425) 556-9055
Personal website

Research interests: Studies of clouds, water vapor, and radiation in the tropical upper troposphere and lower stratosphere.

⇑ Top Andreas Muschinski
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
andreas@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 228
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Atmospheric Physics. Atmospheric turbulence and waves; atmospheric remote sensing; optical, acoustic, and radio-wave propagation through the turbulent atmosphere; boundary-layer meteorology; atmospheric measurement science.

⇑ Top Jason Naylor
Postdoctoral Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
jnaylor@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 237
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top LJ Nickisch
Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Monterey, CA
lj@nwra.com
(831) 582-4905
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Theoretical physics; computational physics and numerical simulation; electromagnetic propagation in randomly structured ionization; HF communication and signal specification in nuclear environments; over-the-horizon radar; VHF/UHF radar ionization-induced propagation effects; stochastic electrodynamics and ZPF-related physics.

⇑ Top Twyla Nordby
Accountant - Redmond, WA
twyla@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 216

⇑ Top Joan Oltman-Shay
President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Redmond, WA
Personal website

Research interests: Science Research in Nearshore Processes. Since graduating from Scripps in 1986, she has spent much of her technical career performing field and model studies of nearshore (shoreline to nominally 10m depth) wave and current dynamics and the interplay with sediment- and morpho-dynamics. e-mail: j[dot]oltman[dot]shay[at]nwra[dot]com

⇑ Top David Ortland
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
ortland@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 309
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Atmospheric sciences. Atmospheric and mathematical science.

⇑ Top Assets Cameron Parkhurst
Systems Administrator - Redmond, WA
cameron@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 341

⇑ Top Scott Pearse
Affiliate Scientist

⇑ Top Lee Piper
Support Engineer - Redmond, WA
lee@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 308

Research interests: Fluid dynamics laboratory simulation and test engineering, oceanographic instrumentation.

⇑ Top Orion Poplawski
Technical Manager, Boulder - Boulder, CO
orion@cora.nwra.com orion@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 222
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Computer and Network Administration, Software Development.

⇑ Top Matthew Pruis
Vice President, Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
matt@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 311
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Experience in data analysis, turbulence and mixed layer processes, and data-model comparison studies. Research projects ranging from studies of the near-shore coastal environment, to deep-sea hydrothermal vents, to sea-ice modeling and field projects in the Arctic, to aircraft wake vortices. Recent work has included the A380 wake separation study group and participation in the FAA's ReCat Phase I project to reduce aircraft wake separation.

⇑ Top Robert Robins
Affiliate Scientist
bob@nwra.com
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Computer modeling of hydrodynamic phenomena, including vortex evolution, internal wave propagation, and turbulent dissipation; validation of computer models by comparison of computer results with observational data; processing and visualization of scientific data; diversified computing experience: various micro, mini, main-frame, and super computer systems.

⇑ Top Assets Lucas Root
Graduate Student Intern - Boulder, CO
lucasroot@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 243

Research interests: B.S. Electrical Engineering, May 2010, from Dept. of ECE, Univ. Mass. Amherst Currently enrolled in the PhD program of the ECEE Dept. at the University of Colorado Boulder, working under the direction of Andreas Muschinski.

⇑ Top Penny Rowe
Affiliate Scientist
(425) 556-9055

⇑ Top Assets Blake Rutherford
Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
blake@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 320

⇑ Top David Schecter
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
schecter@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 215
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Research

⇑ Top Richard Scott
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
scott@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 330
Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Sciences, Fundamental Fluid Mechanics. Atmospheric Dynamics, Vortex Dynamics, Numerical Modeling, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics.

⇑ Top James Secan
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
jim@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 322
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Space physics. Ionospheric physics (modeling, observations, data analysis), space weather (effects of the space environment on satellite, communications, and navigation systems), and operational software design and implementation.

⇑ Top Dana Shay
Manager of Contracting - Redmond, WA
dana@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 310

⇑ Top Francis Smith
Affiliate Engineer
frank@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 327

Research interests: Data acquisition systems, data analysis (time and frequency domain), industrial process control (stability analysis and hardware selection), analog/digital circuit design, electro-optical systems, microprocessor system design, heat-exchanger design.

⇑ Top Dawn Spiegel
HR Generalist - Redmond, WA
dawn@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 304

⇑ Top Chad Spooner
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
cmspooner@nwra.com
(831) 582-4904
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Instruments and Software, Statistical Signal Processing, Higher-Order Statistics, Cyclostationary Signals, and Automatic Signal Classification

⇑ Top Peter Stamus
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
stamus@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 224
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Claudia Stephan
Graduate Student - Boulder, CO
cstephan@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 211

Research interests: I am using the WRF model to study convectively induced gravity waves.

⇑ Top Adam Sykulski
Affiliate Scientist
adam@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 332

Research interests: Marie Curie Fellow

⇑ Top Kathy Tanner
Manager of Accounting - Redmond, WA
kathy@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 325

⇑ Top Jeremy Thomas
Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
jeremy@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 321
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: I study geophysical electric and magnetic fields to further our understanding of Earth's atmosphere and space environment. Topics include lightning, middle atmospheric discharges such as sprites and ELVES, solar-terrestrial effects in the ionosphere and magnetosphere, and reports of geomagnetic and ionospheric precursors to earthquakes.

⇑ Top Shiril Tichkule
Graduate Student Intern - Boulder, CO
shiril.tichkule@colorado.edu
(303) 415-9701 x 243

Research interests: I study the propagation of optical waves through turbulence in the atmospheric boundary layer, with a focus on developing statistical estimators for the remote retrieval of atmospheric variables such as the horizontal wind velocity.

⇑ Top Elena Tolkova
Affiliate Scientist
(425) 556-9055
Personal website

Research interests: Research areas: Tsunami dynamics; numerical modeling; time-series analysis

⇑ Top Cynthia Twohy
Senior Research Scientist - Redmond, WA
twohy@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Aerosol-cloud-climate interactions, dust and biological aerosol particles, aerosol and cloud physics measurement, particularly from aircraft

⇑ Top Susan Twomey
Proposal Administrator - Redmond, WA
sue@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 301

⇑ Top Assets Sharon Vadas
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
vasha@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 202
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric physics, gravity wave dissipation in the thermosphere, ray tracing gravity waves in the lower atmosphere and thermosphere, gravity wave source specification from convection, secondary gravity wave source specification, and modelling horizontal and vertical body forcing. Both analytical and numerical techniques are employed.

⇑ Top Assets Eric Wagner
Support Engineer - Boulder, CO
wagneric@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 221
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Lizzie Webb
Administrative Assistant - Redmond, WA
lizzie@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055 x 316

⇑ Top Joseph Werne
Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Boulder, CO
werne@cora.nwra.com werne@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 207
Personal website

Research interests: High-performance computing, including algorithm development, implementation and optimization on massively parallel processor (MPP) computer platforms; Detailed experience with Cray YMP, C90, T3D, T3E and SGI Origin 2000 machines at various U.S. supercomputer centers. Emphasis is on turbulence in both convection and stable-layer simulation and theory.

⇑ Top Assets Anita Whitney
Immigration and Travel Specialist - Redmond, WA
anita@nwra.com
(425) 556-9055

⇑ Top Assets Jesse Witbrod
Graduate Student Intern - Boulder, CO
jesse.witbrod@colorado.edu
(303) 415-9701

Research interests: Jesse Withbrod is an undergraduate student of Astrophysics at the University of Colorado Boulder working under the direction of Kevin France and Juan Fontenla on modeling of the atmosphere and emitted radiation of M-dwarf host stars of exoplanets. For this work he uses the Solar-Stellar Radiation Physical Modeling system developed by Juan Fontenla and hosted on some of our servers, and observations gathered by the CASA team. The results of this work are very important to determine the habitability and likely atmospheric composition of the exoplanets atmospheres.

⇑ Top Martin Woodard
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
mfw@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x 203
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Space physics. Helioseismology, the solar interior, astrophysics.