NorthWest Research Associates

Excellence in Basic & Applied Research Since 1984

People

Show All

Group: Scientists & Engineers Administration Students Affiliates

Location: Boulder Seattle Monterey Off-site

⇑ Top Joan Alexander, PhD
Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Boulder, CO
alexand@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x204
Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Sciences. Atmospheric dynamics, waves, convection, global circulation modeling, mesoscale modeling, satellite, aircraft, balloon-borne observations, and middle atmosphere studies

⇑ Top Maxwell Anderson
Student Intern - Boulder, CO
s.maxwell21@nwra.com


⇑ Top Mark Baldwin, PhD
Affiliate Scientist, Director
m.baldwin@exeter.ac.uk

Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Sciences. The Arctic Oscillation, stratosphere-troposphere coupling, and propagation of planetary-scale waves in the troposphere and stratosphere.

⇑ Top Graham Barnes, PhD
Senior Research Scientist, Director - Boulder, CO
graham@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x234
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Space Physics. Magnetohydrodynamics, numerical modeling of space plasmas.

⇑ Top Erich Becker, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
erich.becker@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x225

⇑ Top Janet Biggs
Operations Manager - Boulder, CO
janet@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x247

⇑ Top Aaron Birch, PhD
Affiliate Scientist
birch@mps.mpg.de

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Solar physics, local helioseismology, solar interior.

⇑ Top Martina Bramberger, PhD
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
martina@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x248
Personal website
⇑ Top Douglas Braun, PhD
Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Boulder, CO
dbraun@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x226
Personal website

Research interests: Space Physics - solar and astrophysics. Local helioseismology, solar interior.

⇑ Top William Brown, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
bill@nwra.com
(831) 582-4900 x421
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Greg Bullock, PhD
Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
greg@nwra.com
(831) 582-4907
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Alexandra Cherkassky, MS
Senior Accountant - Seattle, WA
alexandra@nwra.com


⇑ Top Mariona Claret
Affiliate Scientist
mclaret@uw.edu


⇑ Top Brian Crowe
IT Systems Administrative Associate - Boulder, CO
brian@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x240

⇑ Top Eric Danioux, PhD
Affiliate Scientist
edanioux@gmail.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Inertia-gravity waves. Geophysical turbulence. Interaction between balanced and unbalanced motions. Mixed layer dynamics.

⇑ Top Donald Delisi, PhD
Founder, Chairman of the Board, Executive Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Seattle, WA



Research interests: Acquisition, analysis, and interpretation of laboratory and field measurements of vortex evolution, internal waves, and turbulent flows; comparisons of field data with laboratory measurements and numerical simulations; experimental fluid mechanics; analysis and interpretation of atmospheric and oceanic flows.

⇑ Top Bergen Delisi
Administrative Assistant - Seattle, WA
bergen@nwra.com


⇑ Top Karin Dissauer, PhD
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
dissauer@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x218
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Philip Dunkerton
Research Assistant - Seattle, WA
pdunkerton@nwra.com
206-556-8151 (Main Seattle Office #)

⇑ Top Jeffrey Early, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Seattle, WA
jearly@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Mesoscale and large scale physical oceanography; the application of symmetry methods to geophysical fluid dynamics

⇑ Top Jonathan Fentzke, PhD
Affiliate Scientist


Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Research focus on Mesosphere and Lower Thermosphere (MLT) studies including modeling, simulation, and data fusion using Incoherent Scatter Radar (ISR) and Lidar. Interests include collisional plasma processes in the E-Region of the Ionosphere as well as meteoric smoke measurements and their relation to the Micrometeoric Input Function (MIF).

⇑ Top Talida Fodorean, CPA, CIA
Manager of Accounting - Seattle, WA
talida@nwra.com


⇑ Top Andrew Frahm
Proposal Administrator and Administrative Specialist - Grants - Boulder, CO
frahm@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x232

⇑ Top Patricia Franke, PhD
Research Scientist - Virginia
pfranke@nwra.com


⇑ Top Edward Fremouw, PhD
Founder, Emeritus


Personal website

Research interests: Near-Earth Space Science: ionospheric physics (satellite experiments & radiowave tomographic imaging) and radio propagation (scintillation observations & modeling).

⇑ Top Sergey Fridman, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
sergey@nwra.com
(831) 582-4902
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Electromagnetic propagation in randomly structured ionization; Robust methods for solution of inverse problems and ill-posed problems; Ionospheric modeling for Over-the-Horizon radar coordinate registration; VHF/UHF ionospheric propagation and scintillations; Advanced signal processing for radar.

⇑ Top Jessica George
Graduate Research Assistant - New Mexico
s.jessica20@nwra.com


⇑ Top Stuart Gilchrist, PhD
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
sgilchrist@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x233
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Kody Gray
Student Intern - Socorro, NM
s.kody21@nwra.com


⇑ Top Alice Gregory
Manager of Corporate Matters - Seattle, WA
alice@nwra.com


⇑ Top Alison Grimsdell, PhD
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
grimsdell@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x211
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Heidi Guerrero, MBA
Senior Accountant - Seattle, WA
heidi@nwra.com


⇑ Top Mark Hausman, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
markhausman@nwra.com
(831) 582-4903
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Research focus is on computer programs that model complex physical systems, specifically simulations and studies of ionospheric and space physics, and their effects on radar and communications systems. Fields of expertise include data translation (e.g., raw radar data from ROTHR and BMEWS) and data visualization.

⇑ Top Evan Higgins
Student Intern - Seattle, WA
s.evan21@nwra.com


⇑ Top Matthew Hogan, PhD
Affiliate Scientist
matthewghogan@protonmail.com
831-402-1086
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Experimental physics, astrophysics and atmospheric physics, parameter estimation using constraints, deep learning methods, and detector design.

⇑ Top Laura Holt, PhD
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
laura@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x239
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Linea Hulse
Senior Accountant of Contracts and Grants - Haiku, HI
linea@nwra.com


⇑ Top Dennis Knepp, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
dennis.knepp@nwra.com
(831) 582-4906
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Yefim Kogan, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - San Diego, CA
ykogan@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Microphysics of clouds and precipitation, aerosol-cloud-precipitation interactions, parameterization of clouds and precipitation for mesoscale weather prediction and global climate models.

⇑ Top Kelsey Kramer, MS
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
kelsey@nwra.com
(303) 415 9701 x227

Research interests: Atmospheric and Environmental Scientist with 5+ years of experience in remote sensing, ionospheric data analysis, GPS signal processing, and radiographic image processing. Solid background in MATLAB and IDL/ENVI programming for modeling and simulation purposes, along with diagnostic development. Worked in both government and academia settings to develop consistent analysis tools usable across industries. Strong understanding of the interdisciplinary nature of scientific research and the need for collaboration between different fields in order to meet the needs of a project and share findings.

⇑ Top Shawn Kraut, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Monterey, CA
shawn@nwra.com
(831) 655-4261
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Christopher Kruse, PhD
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
ckruse@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x224
Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Dynamics (Mesoscale and Global), Mountain Meteorology (e.g. Orographic Gravity Waves, Drag (both GW and low-level processes), Parameterization, Precipitation), Numerical Weather Prediction, Observational Research

⇑ Top Eric Kunze, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Seattle, WA
kunze@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Understanding and parameterizing the effects of smallscale ocean processes on large scales, including the impacts of internal waves, turbulence, fronts, double diffusion and stratified turbulence.

⇑ Top Zachary Lawrence, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate - New Mexico
zdlawrence@nwra.com


⇑ Top KD Leka, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
leka@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x219
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Space Physics. Solar physics, solar magnetic fields, sunspots and solar active regions, solar flares, polarimetry and instrumentation.

⇑ Top Pascale Lelong, PhD
Senior Research Scientist, Director - Seattle, WA
pascale@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Ocean and Earth Sciences. Geophysical fluid dynamics; perturbation and asymptotic methods; numerical modeling.

⇑ Top Gad Levy, PhD, CCM
Senior Research Scientist - Seattle, WA
gad@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Sciences, Ocean and Earth Sciences

⇑ Top Beate Liepert, PhD
Affiliate Scientist
bgliepert@gmail.com

Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Climate variability from inter-annual to centennial time scales, water and energy cycle in a changing climate. Global dimming and brightening and its implications for climate including the water and carbon cycles. In-situ measurements of air pollution and radiative properties in urban and suburban environments on board hot-air balloons.

⇑ Top Charles Lindsey, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
lindsey@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x238
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Karen Lorberau
Assoc Mgr of Corporate Matters - Monterey, CA
karen@nwra.com
(831) 582-4900 x415

⇑ Top Larry Mahrt, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Corvallis, OR
mahrt@nwra.com
541-754-7501
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Boundary layers and turbulence, evapotranspiration, air-sea interaction, bouyancy-driven slope flows, micrometeorology.

⇑ Top Gloria Manney, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - New Mexico
manney@nwra.com
505-414-8887
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Charles Martin
Senior Research Engineer - Boulder, CO
cmartin@nwra.com


⇑ Top Laurie Medsker
Contracts & Grants Specialist - Seattle, WA
laurie@nwra.com


⇑ Top Philip Mote, PhD
Affiliate Scientist
pmote@coas.oregonstate.edu

Personal website

Research interests: Studies of clouds, water vapor, and radiation in the tropical upper troposphere and lower stratosphere.

⇑ Top Andreas Muschinski, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
andreas@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x228
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Atmospheric Physics. Atmospheric turbulence and waves; atmospheric remote sensing; optical, acoustic, and radio-wave propagation through the turbulent atmosphere; boundary-layer meteorology; atmospheric measurement science.

⇑ Top LJ Nickisch, PhD
Vice President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Monterey, CA
lj@nwra.com
(831) 582-4905
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Theoretical physics; computational physics and numerical simulation; electromagnetic propagation in randomly structured ionization; HF communication and signal specification in nuclear environments; over-the-horizon radar; VHF/UHF radar ionization-induced propagation effects; stochastic electrodynamics and ZPF-related physics.

⇑ Top Joan Oltman-Shay, PhD
President, Senior Research Scientist, Director - Seattle, WA


Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: Science Research in Nearshore Processes. Since graduating from Scripps in 1986, she has spent much of her technical career performing field and model studies of nearshore (shoreline to nominally 10m depth) wave and current dynamics and the interplay with sediment- and morpho-dynamics. e-mail: j[dot]oltman[dot]shay[at]nwra[dot]com

⇑ Top Cameron Parkhurst
Business Information Systems Lead and IT Systems Assistant Manager - Seattle, WA
cameron@nwra.com


Research interests: Python, Business Intelligence, Web Development, Computer Networking

⇑ Top Sara Petty, Ph.D.
Research Scientist - California
spetty@nwra.com


⇑ Top Jasna Pittman, PhD
Affiliate Scientist
jvpittman@gmail.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Stratosphere-troposphere exchange, atmospheric dynamics, atmospheric chemistry, greenhouse gases, stratospheric humidity, airborne measurements, satellite observations, chemistry-climate modeling.

⇑ Top Orion Poplawski
Manager of NWRA Technical Systems - Boulder, CO
orion@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Computer and Network Administration, Software Development.

⇑ Top Robert Robins, PhD
Affiliate Scientist
rerscicomp@gmail.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Computer modeling of hydrodynamic phenomena, including vortex evolution, internal wave propagation, and turbulent dissipation; validation of computer models by comparison of computer results with observational data; processing and visualization of scientific data; diversified computing experience: various micro, mini, main-frame, and super computer systems.

⇑ Top Penny Rowe, PhD
Research Scientist - Seattle, WA
penny@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: The interaction of clouds and trace gases with infrared radiation, particularly in Polar regions. Black carbon and other light-absorbing impurities in snow in Antarctica and the Chilean Andes. Scanning electron microscopy of ice crystals. Molecular dynamics calculations of ice.

⇑ Top Marcus Schaller
Student Intern - Boulder, CO
s.marcus21@nwra.com


⇑ Top David Schecter, PhD
Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
schecter@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x215
Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric Research

⇑ Top James Secan, MS
Senior Research Scientist - Seattle, WA
jim@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Space physics. Ionospheric physics (modeling, observations, data analysis), space weather (effects of the space environment on satellite, communications, and navigation systems), and operational software design and implementation.

⇑ Top Dana Shay, CPCM
Manager of Contracts & Grants - Seattle, WA
dana@nwra.com


⇑ Top Ken Smalls
Accounts Receivable, Senior Accountant - Seattle, WA
ken@nwra.com


⇑ Top Francis Smith
Affiliate Engineer



Research interests: Data acquisition systems, data analysis (time and frequency domain), industrial process control (stability analysis and hardware selection), analog/digital circuit design, electro-optical systems, microprocessor system design, heat-exchanger design.

⇑ Top Natalia Solorzano, PhD
Space Geophysics - Seattle, WA
natalia@nwra.com


⇑ Top Chad Spooner, PhD
Senior Research Scientist, Director - Monterey, CA
cmspooner@nwra.com
(831) 582-4904
Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Instruments and Software, Statistical Signal Processing, Higher-Order Statistics, Cyclostationary Signals, and Automatic Signal Classification

⇑ Top Jielun Sun, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
jielun@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x235
Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: atmospheric physics especially in the atmospheric boundary layer including dynamics, turbulent mixing, in situ observations, turbulence-wave-interactions, air-land/sea interactions, trace gas transport, surface heterogeneity, and complex terrain; atmospheric energetics, and mesoscale dynamics.

⇑ Top Jeremy Thomas, PhD
Research Scientist - Seattle, WA
jeremy@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae | Personal website

Research interests: I study geophysical electric and magnetic fields to further our understanding of Earth's atmosphere and space environment. Topics include lightning, middle atmospheric discharges such as sprites and ELVES, solar-terrestrial effects in the ionosphere and magnetosphere, and reports of geomagnetic and ionospheric precursors to earthquakes.

⇑ Top Elena Tolkova, PhD
Affiliate Scientist
e.tolkova@gmail.com

Personal website

Research interests: Research areas: Tsunami dynamics; numerical modeling; time-series analysis

⇑ Top Cynthia Twohy, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - San Diego, CA
twohy@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Aerosol-cloud-climate interactions, dust and biological aerosol particles, aerosol and cloud physics measurement, particularly from aircraft

⇑ Top Susan Twomey
Administrative Specialist, Contracts
sue@nwra.com


⇑ Top Sharon Vadas, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
vasha@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x202
Personal website

Research interests: Atmospheric physics, gravity wave dissipation in the thermosphere, ray tracing gravity waves in the lower atmosphere and thermosphere, gravity wave source specification from convection, secondary gravity wave source specification, and modelling horizontal and vertical body forcing. Both analytical and numerical techniques are employed.

⇑ Top Eric Wagner
Senior Support Engineer - Boulder, CO
wagneric@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x221
Curriculum vitae
⇑ Top Hannah (Huan) Wang
Accountant - Seattle, WA
hannah@nwra.com


⇑ Top Joseph Werne, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Boulder, CO
werne@cora.nwra.com | werne@nwra.com
(303) 415-9701 x207
Personal website

Research interests: High-performance computing, including algorithm development, implementation and optimization on massively parallel processor (MPP) computer platforms; Detailed experience with Cray YMP, C90, T3D, T3E and SGI Origin 2000 machines at various U.S. supercomputer centers. Emphasis is on turbulence in both convection and stable-layer simulation and theory.

⇑ Top Martin Woodard, PhD
Senior Research Scientist - Eugene, OR
mfw@nwra.com

Curriculum vitae

Research interests: Space physics. Helioseismology, the solar interior, astrophysics.